top of page
  • Writer's pictureCold Spring Community Action

Heidi Bender & Kathleen Foley on Running for the Village Board

Cold Spring Community Action is excited to have statements from Heidi Bender and Kathleen Foley, two Cold Springers who are running for the Village Board of Trustees this election season. The pair are thus far running unopposed, and will take the seats of Steve Voloto and Lynn Miller, who did not seek re-election. They will join Mayor Dave Merandy, Marie Early, and Fran Murphy to complete the board. Although they are running unopposed, Bender and Foley have given CSCA these statements to clearly state their platforms and actively connect with the community they plan to serve.




Heidi Bender



Even though I’m running unopposed for Village Trustee, it’s important me that village residents understand why I’m running.


Our needs as a village are different because of COVID-19. When we look at the budget in 2021, I’d like to see where we can all best be served and how we can plan for the future. Would EMT services for the village be beneficial? What does our library need from us right now to help the transition? How can we support parents who are working and have no childcare or school? How can we support teachers who are completely reinventing the way they teach? I’d like to work with our residents to examine all of our evolving needs, even if the answers are difficult or the goals seem lofty.


Now is a time to be good to each other. And to reinvent the way we function as a community so that we can all bear the isolation and the uncertainty, together. This includes examining racial injustice and intolerance in our village. Two incidents of hate graffiti in two years is too many. Now is the time to actively counteract a history of the KKK in this area. Let’s examine our policies and our attitudes and see if we’re the kind of village that really, truly welcomes all.


We all want the pandemic to end, and we have the power to keep our infection rates low. Let’s look at what works in other places and see what could be applied here. How can we better maximize our use of public spaces for residents? Can we prioritize bike lanes? What environmental concerns do we need to address to ensure an enjoyable future of our beautiful village for all? We want to see one another so let’s map the safest way to do that sustainably.


I’d also like to continue the conversation about the safest way for Main Street businesses to stay in business. I both live on Main Street and have a business here. Empty storefronts make a difficult year even harder, and we’re all struggling. So let’s lift each other up. I realize that tourism can come with drawbacks for full time residents. But a vibrant Main Street can give a village its heart. We’re here for you year round, and every merchant wants to be a store that supports the character of our village. At the same time, we know Putnam County should be giving the village a percentage of the sales tax revenue that we generate and I know we all want to work towards that goal, however difficult it might be. In the meantime, it’s worthwhile to keep our Main Street a place where residents can find connection.


If elected, I’m looking forward to working with Marie Early, Fran Murphy, Mayor Merandy and Kathleen Foley, all of whom are extremely knowledgeable. The current board - Dave, Marie, Fran, Steve and Lynn have given a tremendous amount of time and energy keeping our town functioning and keeping us safe. I know the hours they’ve spent. And I understand that there’s a lot of day to day items to deal with first and foremost in order to make these bigger initiatives possible. I’m ready to do the work.


This is a different world. There have been more than 150,000 deaths from COVID-19 in our country. Nationwide, citizens are calling for equality, something guaranteed by our Constitution. Let's figure out how to best respond at the local level, and show it can be done thoughtfully and with care for all.





Kathleen Foley



My name is Kathleen E. Foley, and I am running for Cold Spring Village Trustee because I believe that local government meaningfully impacts our daily life. Our Village government implements and enforces policies and codes that drive development and protect our community character, as well as ensure public safety and our quality of life.


Our Trustees determine spending on essential services like infrastructure maintenance, garbage removal and emergency response. Village Hall (or its virtual version right now!) is where we interact with our neighbors on issues we all care about, and where we find solutions together.


In New York State, Village elections are independent, and candidates form their own parties. I chose Forge Ahead as my party name because it speaks to Cold Spring’s industrial history as a foundry town, and because it’s what we have to do—together—right now.

We must Forge Ahead in challenging financial times, making tough choices that will help us continue to deliver essential services with reduced state and federal aid.

We must Forge Ahead in the COVID pandemic to protect our health, maintain our sense of community, and keep local businesses open.

We must Forge Ahead with climate preparedness initiatives that protect our riverfront and built environment.


We must Forge Ahead with difficult community conversations, in ways that people who hold differing views are heard, understood and work together toward solutions.

Although I’m running for Trustee unopposed, I still have to earn the votes of my fellow Village residents. They should know who I am, what I have to offer, and why I’m running.

Throughout my professional life I’ve built essential, diverse skills a Village Trustee needs. I studied communication management and design as an undergraduate. In graduate school I pursued historic preservation and land use planning. The work I’ve done in those fields over the last 27 years—primarily engaged with local governments—ranges from strategic planning through project management; institution building; resource development; and conflict mitigation. I have done extensive community organizing for environmental protections as well as economic and social justice issues.


I’ve served Cold Spring as a member of the Village’s Comprehensive Plan Special Board, the Tree Advisory Committee, and as the Vice Chair of the Historic District Review Board. I volunteer as a class parent at Haldane, and I’m a Girl Scout leader. My scouts established the Community Herb Garden on St Mary’s lawn.


I look forward to hearing from Village voters on any topic that concerns them. I can be contacted directly via email at forgeaheadwithfoley@gmail.com, or by telephone at (347) 721-2086.

353 views0 comments
bottom of page